Third time is a charm and First hours in Amsterdam

Well… it’s official! I am the worst at blogging! Third time is a charm? Indeed, my desire to share my activities and impressions with the world has returned. Of course, this happens as my adventure nears the final weeks of its existence and the delay is not insignificant. However! I have been keeping a detailed -perhaps too detailed- handwritten journal! As such, keeping track of dates and events is no problem. Perhaps I shall enchant you with some moments, big and small, of this incredible trip! (maybe enchant is too big a word? Keep you somewhat entertained? Give you something to read while you’re on the loo?)

Alright take three.. don’t you let me down!!!

Monday March 30th 2015

Due to a flight delay in Montreal, my flight landed in London quite late, leaving a very teensy tiny window of time for me to reach my next gate. Luckily, I got the help of a wonderful Heathrow employee who greeted me with a sign that had my name on it (YES just like in the movies, except they now use iPads). We rushed through security control and made it right on time for boarding. Of course I was quite worried that my luggage wouldn’t make it on time! Thankfully Della put my mind at ease by passing on a message to me via a flight attendant! Thank you Della!

I napped for most of the London-Amsterdam flight.. Well, I made time for wine, coffee and mixed nuts! I woke up as we approached land, seeing hundreds of windmills – the modern kind of course – both in water and on land! What an impressive sight. Once we landed I got my luggage quite rapidly as it had probably been the last to be checked in!

Luckily, I found the bus I had been instructed to take somewhat easily – I did NOT almost go the wrong way – you actually buy your ticket from a van! Weird… Took the bus to Leidseplein and met up with Christel by the Starbucks on Leidsestraat. She lives right on the canal, only two minutes away! Well, after you walk up (climb up) the narrowest, steepest four flights of stairs!

We had some Cava on the roof and WOW! The view is absolutely stunning! Breathtaking! After killing the bottle we headed out for
1) fries and mayo. Ugh… so good!
2) FEBO! I enjoyed Kroket and Frikandel. FEBO can only be described as a hot food vending machine. Different columns have different food types… including cheeseburgers!

We ended my first little soirée in Amsterdam having some wine and beer under the cozy heatlamps of the lovely brown café: PIEPER.
Amsterdam-75
I personally enjoyed an easter beer by local microbrewery Brouwerij ‘t IJ! Apparently, it is located in/under a windmill right in this city! Must visit!

For now.. Sleep!

PS: This bar had cats!

Bar cat! Oh Amsterdam how I love you!

A post shared by Elise Høgberg (@elisehogberg) on

Leave a Reply

